In 1853, Captain Richard King purchased a creek-fed oasis in the Wild Horse Desert of South Texas, sparking generations of integrity, preservation, and innovation. The King Ranch now covers 825,000 acres and is recognized as one of the must see venues in the State of Texas. Come visit King Ranch to learn about its history and legacy, gain insight into current ranching and agricultural practices in the United States, and view the variety of birds, wildlife, flora, and fauna of majestic South Texas first-hand. King Ranch offers Daily Ranch Tours, Special Interest Tours, Nature Tours, and Motor Coach Tours for larger groups.
Visitors will discover artifacts dating back from the City’s founding in the early 1900’s; through the 1960’s. The Depot was closed at a time when rail travel no longer held the sparkle and excitement it had enjoyed for so many years, and goods and people were now moved by trucks and automobiles. To celebrate Kingsville’s 100th Birthday, the structure was restored and the museum opened its doors on July 4th, 2004 – 100 years to the date that the city was Chartered. Today, photographs are exhibited in chronological order so visitors can enjoy viewing the history of Kingsville and the importance of the train coming through the community, as well as artifact that give insights into life on the rail. The museum’s personality changes daily with the personality of the Volunteer for the day. Manned by caring volunteers of Kingsville, each person brings the variety of exhibits to life through the love and excitement they feel for the museum.
The mission of the Conner Museum is to collect, preserve, and exhibit historical materials relating to the geology, paleontology, archaeology, anthropology, ethnology, the general sciences, literature and art of South Texas. Located at 905 W Santa Gertrudis Avenue on the campus of Texas A&M University– Kingsville, the John E. Conner Museum has a history as old as the university itself. Original History professor John Edwin Conner (1883-1989) began his collection in 1925 when the university was founded; the John E. Conner Museum was organized four years later. Visit the museum’s website to learn about current exhibits!